Matched Trilogy Review

The Matched Trilogy review is here!

I just finished Reached the third and final book in the Matched Trilogy. Now I’m in a bad mood, but I left my sulking corner so I could write this review. ;D

Ally Condie did a good job with this series and I have to admit I’m sad that it’s over, but there were some flaws….Here’s what I thought of each of the books and the series in general:

MATCHED:


Title: Matched
Author: Ally Condie
Synopsis:

Cassia has always trusted the Society to make the right choices for her: what to read, what to watch, what to believe. So when Xander’s face appears on-screen at her Matching ceremony, Cassia knows with complete certainty that he is her ideal mate… until she sees Ky Markham’s face flash for an instant before the screen fades to black.

The Society tells her it’s a glitch, a rare malfunction, and that she should focus on the happy life she’s destined to lead with Xander. But Cassia can’t stop thinking about Ky, and as they slowly fall in love, Cassia begins to doubt the Society’s infallibility and is faced with an impossible choice: between Xander and Ky, between the only life she’s known and a path that no one else has dared to follow.

Matched Trailer:

Matched is about a girl, Cassia, (I read the whole book pronouncing it Cass-ee-uh and then I heard the author talking about her and she pronounced it Kay-shuh.) who lives in the Society, she’s a model citizen who obeys all the rules and excels among her peers. She trusts the Society to know what’s best for her life…When I first started reading this I was like “Why is she so perfect?! Why doesn’t she rebel?!” But I guess if you grow up thinking that’s the best thing for you then you probably wouldn’t want/think to rebel….
On her 17th birthday she goes to her Matched banquet to find out who her optimal match is. The boy who Society has chosen for her to love and someday marry. And who is Cassia’s optimal match? Her best friend, Xander Carrow! When she sees its him she knows it must be correct. The Society doesn’t make mistakes….Or do they? As you read in the synopsis, Ky Markham’s face appears and she’s confused at how the Society could make a mistake. We don’t actually find out who made the ‘mistake’ until the very end of the last book….I thought Matched was great, and I would recommend the series solely on this book alone. Though, where it ended certainly would need a second book, but the second book we get is lacking in soooo many areas….

When I first started this book I was already Fangirling in the first chapter. I was laying in bed and I read the part where Xander and Cassia get matched and I squealed and was all like:

My sister was like “What?!” And my other sister says “She’s Fangirling….” But guysss It was just so sweeeet and I fell in love with Xander right away…. ❤ This book is full of poetry which I loved, and I adore the Do not go gentle into that goodnight poem by Dylan Thomas which is a very popular poem in these books.
In the Society, there are only 100 stories, 100 songs, 100 poems, 100 paintings…ect.. There was a Hundreds committee who went through all of the art that we have today and selected 100 of each, and destroyed the rest. The whole idea of the Society was pretty crazy and super detailed. For that I was happy! Ally Condie thought of just about everything while creating a future world! Something that I thought way super crazy was that the people in the society never learn to write! And the society forbids them from creating, they can only paint on tablets in school but then the Officials or teachers erase them! So it was neat to hear about that. Also, a theme that I found in all three of the books was the eyes. They mention them a lot and notice them a lot. I like noticing eyes so I thought that was pretty cool. 😛

I’m going to give Matched a 4 out of 5 heart rating because I really liked it, but I think a few things should have been mentioned, since they don’t get mentioned until the second and last book….

 4-hearts
Now, you can stop reading here if you don’t want to hear about the other two books, but you might want to read them because they weren’t as good as this one….so you might not want to read them at all…..

MOUSE OVER FOR MATCHED SPOILERS

CROSSED:


Title: Crossed
Author: Ally Condie
Synopsis:

In search of a future that may not exist and faced with the decision of who to share it with, Cassia journeys to the Outer Provinces in pursuit of Ky – taken by the Society to his certain death – only to find that he has escaped, leaving a series of clues in his wake.Cassia’s quest leads her to question much of what she holds dear, even as she finds glimmers of a different life across the border.

But as Cassia nears resolve and certainty about her future with Ky, an invitation for rebellion, an unexpected betrayal, and a surprise visit from Xander – who may hold the key to the uprising and, still, to Cassia’s heart – change the game once again. Nothing is as expected on the edge of Society, where crosses and double crosses make the path more twisted than ever.

Here is the Crossed trailer:

(I really love this trailer even though Xander isn’t how I imagined him…. :D)

OK guys, I’m going to be honest here, I don’t want to tell you to read a book that I didn’t enjoy, but if you are like me, and like to read a series through once you’ve started it, then hear me out. Crossed. Was. So. Boring. I read it because I don’t like to skip books in a series, and I wanted to see how the story unfolded, but to be honest it seemed kind of pointless, there were only a few key moments that even really mattered! We get introduced to some new characters in this book, some of which have bigger parts in the next book. But some characters, or mentions of characters are irrelevant/useless and leave us wondering why they were even mentioned. I just got soooo bored with it! 😦 The entire book is about Cassia and Ky in the Canyons with their friends, trying to find each-other and then trying to get out, and I just got really tired of the stupid canyons!!! (Sorry to offend any of you canyon lovers out there….) In book two it goes from Cassia’s POV then onto Ky’s, back and forth, while book one was just Cassia’s POV. Being in Ky’s head was nice at times, but often repetitive of what was in Cassia’s head. I mean, come on! They’re in the same stinkin Canyon! And they both see it as orange, and red, and I don’t want to see/read the same descriptions of things! Also, Ky thinks too much and doesn’t talk enough. I found that I had to really focus in order to not skim over his chapters because there was so much in his head. Pretty much the whole time I read this I was just thinking…

I did like Vick and Eli, two characters we meet in this book. They both added to the plot. I also like Hunter!
Overall this book was a bore. There was no conflict in this one, and I just think it could have been done a lot better.
So this book gets 2.5 out of 5 hearts *cringe* I know, pretty bad….but seriously, if this was the first book of the series, I wouldn’t even give it this.

MOUSE OVER FOR CROSSED SPOILERS

REACHED:

Title: Reached
Author: Ally Condie
Synopsis:

Cassia faces the ultimate choices in the long-anticipated conclusion to the New York Times bestselling Matched Trilogy.

After leaving Society and desperately searching for the Rising—and each other—Cassia and Ky have found what they were looking for, but at the cost of losing each other yet again: Cassia has been assigned to work for the Rising from within Society, while Ky has been stationed outside its borders. But nothing is as predicted, and all too soon the veil lifts and things shift once again.

In this gripping conclusion to the #1 New York Times bestselling Matched Trilogy, Cassia will reconcile the difficulties of challenging a life too confining, seeking a freedom she never dreamed possible, and honoring a love she cannot live without.

 

Reached Trailer:

(Least favorite of the three)

Reached. Where do I start?! This one was far better than Crossed, but nowhere near Matched. Though it’s not mentioned in the synopsis I don’t think it’s much of a spoiler, but there is a plague going on in this book. There was a lot of info dumping, especially about the Plague and the Mutation Plague and I was all like “Whaaaaat?”

It was just really complicated and confusing all that medical stuffs about the those and the thing-a-ma-bobbers. Though I commend her for all the research and studying she must have gone through, we really don’t need to know all the details!. “People really, really sick, gonna die.” Would have been just fine!….OK not really…. 😀 You know what I mean.
But I really struggled with not skipping parts, and when I struggle with not skipping parts then I’m not enjoying what I’m reading. :/
In this book we add Xander’s POV to Cassia’s and Ky’s. I liked to read from Xander’s POV because you get to see how he really feels about Cassia, and about Ky and everything in general. He changes a lot in this book from who he was in Matched and we find out some secrets about him. 😛
I really didn’t like Indie and her relationship with another character.(Not mentioning any names) I felt that it was all wrong.
At the end of Reached, when Cassia had to choose between Ky and Xander this was my reaction when she made her choice.

She picked the wrong dudeeeee. :'( (At least in my opinion) And I was really upset! I read all that for her to choose the wrong guy?!…. And before I go on a rampage I’ll just stop there…..

MOUSE OVER FOR REACHED SPOILERS

Reached gets 3 out of 5 hearts. Not as bad as Crossed, not as good as Matched.

3-hearts

NOTES:

In Matched, Crossed and Reached, there is kissing, it’s not too overkill. Also, in Reached I noticed it, but it could have been in Crossed, there is the use of the D*mn word. And I think also He*l was used in some form.
So here’s the verdict. I highly recommend Matched. I truly enjoyed it! But Crossed and Reached really didn’t do the series justice. So if you want to read Matched alone. Go for it. But it leaves you at a point where you obviously need a second book. So if you don’t feel like reading Crossed then maybe you can just write your own second book….in your head…. how you want it to go 😀 Or just push through Crossed and Reached to see how it ends…..I could try to explain it to you but there’s far too many Plague details I’d miss because I may or may not have skimmed some parts…Sorry not sorry… 🙄
Hope you enjoyed this, long…and probably boring review of the Matched Trilogy!
Thanks so much for stopping by!

Madi ❤

Leave a Reply! I'd love to hear from you :)

