Scarlet (#2 The Lunar Chronicles) by Marissa Meyer – Book Review

I just finished Scarlet, book 2 in The Lunar Chronicles series. Guys if you haven’t read the first book Cinder then please go read it!!!! There may be some SPOILERS so you may not want to read this unless you’ve read the first book (Cinder). But if you don’t mind getting Spoiled… ;)….Then proceed with your reading!


Title: Scarlet
Author: Marissa Meyer
Published by: Feiwel & Friends
Published: February 5th 2013
Pages: 452
Synopsis:
Cinder returns in the second thrilling installment of the New York Times-bestselling Lunar Chronicles. She’s trying to break out of prison—even though if she succeeds, she’ll be the Commonwealth’s most wanted fugitive.

Halfway around the world, Scarlet Benoit’s grandmother is missing. It turns out there are many things Scarlet doesn’t know about her grandmother and the grave danger she has lived in her whole life. When Scarlet encounters Wolf, a street fighter who may have information as to her grandmother’s whereabouts, she has no choice but to trust him, though he clearly has a few dark secrets of his own.

As Scarlet and Wolf work to unravel one mystery, they find another when they cross paths with Cinder. Together, they must stay one step ahead of the vicious Lunar Queen who will do anything to make Prince Kai her husband, her king, her prisoner.

Guys, I just can’t even.

I. Am. Hooked.


The feels right now guys…..

So in the first book, Cinder finds out something that’s like SUPER important. Not only can it save Prince (Emperor) Kai, but also all of New Beijing, and even the WHOLE world. In Scarlet we meet a new character…you guessed it, her name is Scarlet!

Scarlet’s Grandmother is missing, and the police have been no help. So she sets off in search of her beloved Grandma, but on her way she finds out a whole lot of secrets her Grandmother has been hiding from her her whole life. Wolf, the street fighter that Scarlet meets up with, helps her along the way, but she finds out that he too, has been lying to her. Scarlet discovers who she really is, who her grandmother is and what terrible and dangerous secrets she has been harboring for years.
Meanwhile, Cinder has escaped prison and is running for her life, along with another fugitive, Carswell Thorne, who insists on being called Captain. 😉 Cinder, trying to find answers sets off in search of the one person on earth who can give them to her….but will she make it in time?
Kai, is also to keep the peace in the Commonwealth. But with Queen Levana breathing down his neck, Cinder nowhere to be found and terrifying creatures waiting to attack, Kai must make the hardest decision of his life. Will he make the right one?

At first Scarlet kind of annoyed me, but as the book progressed I came to like her more. In this book we switch off and on from Scarlet’s POV, Cinder’s, Thorne’s, Kai’s and also Queen Levana’s. We also learn a bunch more about Cinder, and how she came to be Cyborg, and more about her Lunar power.

Thorne was HILARIOUS. He had me cracking up pretty much ever scene he was in. He is so much like Flynn Rider/Eugene Fitzherbert (Who is like my favorite fictional character EVAAA) He’s girl crazy and thinks he’s handsome and charming. (Which I don’t doubt that he is) And he is soooo funny!! He was by far my favorite character in this book (Aside from Cinder, Kai, and Iko, of course…. well…maybe…..:D)

Thought this was fitting 😀

I wish that Cinder had more moments in this book, but I think since this book was particularly about Scarlet, Meyer limited reader/Cinder time. I like how Cinder is learning to use her new found lunar ability, and though she struggles with her feelings about it, between enjoying and despising her power, she’s learning more about who she’s meant to be, and that she can’t hide from it any longer.

Iko, once again was super funny and I just love how sweet and adorable she is x) I want a BFF like Iko.

Kai wasn’t in this book nearly as much as I would have liked, but they put him in there enough so we know what he’s thinking. I like that, and I can’t wait for him and Cinder to meet back up. They seriously need to talk. Like, NOW.

Wolf, was a mystery from the very beginning. I’m pretty sure that’s what Meyer was going for, but more and more about him unfolded at the end, stuff that I already suspected….cuz I’m just smart like that 😎 XD Also, no one has ever made tomatoes sound so good….I really wanted a tomato after reading the first few chapters. 😀

You should be WARNED. There are some pretty graphic scenes in this book. Though I didn’t mind them so much, they could bother someone else. It was pretty gory.  So just be forewarned!

THINGS I DIDN’T LIKE:

In the Second chapter its showing scenes on TV of when Cinder falls (From the first book, Cinder) And some guys at the bar joke around, one comments something to the effect of “I think she’s cute. They shouldn’t execute her, they should let her come stay with me” and a guy says “No doubt that metal leg of hers will make for a real cozy bedmate” And a third guy says “I wouldn’t mind the chance to warm her up”  At this point I was like “Really Marissa Meyer?! You had to add that in there?!”
Also, Scarlet’s grandmother becomes pregnant on a mission to Luna. She obviously wasn’t married to the man.
Another thing I didn’t really like, is when we first meet Thorne it says that he uses his portscreen to look at naughty pictures of woman, and also it says he has a naked lady painted on his spaceship.
“Ugh really Thorne?!”

I give Scarlet 5 stars even though there were some things that I didn’t particularly like, I still enjoyed it immensely

5-hearts

Thanks for stopping by! I’m off to read Cress….so be prepared for a book review on that book next! 😀

Madi ❤

One thought on “Scarlet (#2 The Lunar Chronicles) by Marissa Meyer – Book Review

Leave a Reply! I'd love to hear from you :)

