Hello, I love you by Katie M Stout – Book Review

I won Hello, I love you in a giveaway held on Daisy’s blog! She’s awesome! Go check her out!
I just finished reading it, (2 days ago), so today I bring you my thoughts on it! 🙂

Hello, I love you

By Katie M. Stout

Title: Hello, I love you
Author: Katie M. Stout
Published by: St. Martin’s Griffin
Published: June 9th 2015
Pages: 304
Synopsis:

A teen escapes to a boarding school abroad and falls for a Korean pop star in this fun and fresh romantic novel in the vein of Anna and the French Kiss.

Grace Wilde is running—from the multi-million dollar mansion her record producer father bought, the famous older brother who’s topped the country music charts five years in a row, and the mother who blames her for her brother’s breakdown. Grace escapes to the farthest place from home she can think of, a boarding school in Korea, hoping for a fresh start.

She wants nothing to do with music, but when her roommate Sophie’s twin brother Jason turns out to be the newest Korean pop music superstar, Grace is thrust back into the world of fame. She can’t stand Jason, whose celebrity status is only outmatched by his oversized ego, but they form a tenuous alliance for the sake of her friendship with Sophie. As the months go by and Grace adjusts to her new life in Korea, even she can’t deny the sparks flying between her and the KPOP idol.

Soon, Grace realizes that her feelings for Jason threaten her promise to herself that she’ll leave behind the music industry that destroyed her family. But can Grace ignore her attraction to Jason and her undeniable pull of the music she was born to write? Sweet, fun, and romantic, this young adult novel explores what it means to experience first love and discover who you really are in the process.

OK. First I just want to say that I liked this book overall, and if you’re a lover of music, and romance you would probably like this book.

Grace Wilde, the MC, is running away from her life in Tennessee. We don’t know much from her past, but we can gather through the bits and pieces that her brother got into some trouble and she blames herself for it, because she feels her family blames her for it. She becomes good friends with her roommate Sophie Bae, who introduces her to her KPOP idol twin brother, Jason, and his band, Eden. Though they get off on a rocky start, Jason and Grace soon become friends. And Grace starts to develop a strong liking for the “Hot Asian” But when Jason shows signs of dangerous habits that could ruin his future, Grace knows she can’t trust him enough to let him into her heart…..or can she?!

I really liked Stout’s writing style, in the way that Grace kinda talked in her mind, like just say I was writing dialogue and It went like this “You mean you ate my Ben and Jerry’s?! I just bought it yesterday!” Rude. <– Like that! I really liked that because that’s often how I write 🙂

Also, I felt that the character development was ok-ish. It was almost like Jason was bipolar (I think Grace asks if he is at one point in the book….) Like one moment he’s mad at the world and the next he’s trying to joke around, I mean I get it, he’s had a hard life….but It just didn’t work for me.
Also, I didn’t like how it kept fast-forwarding. Like you would read a chapter and the next chapter would be several months later, and I just felt like there were too many gaps. It wasn’t horrible, but I just wish we could have kind of been there the whole time and not skip several months.
Now, I am not racist, and I don’t see anything wrong with stating someones nationality, or calling someone Asian, White, Black/African, Mexican…ect. But I don’t think it’s necessary to point it out over and over. And over. We get it Grace, you’re in Korea and there are Koreans everywhere! It’s just mentioned so much, I don’t think it was needed that much.
The romance in here was good, you know when you get all warm and fuzzy inside because of the cuteness?! Yeah, it was pretty sweet.

My Fav Characters:

Grace. Even though she had an attitude, I get it, she was the stereotypical-rich-daddy-so-I’m-spoiled-blonde…She’s the main character so we get to feel what she’s going through. I think she’s super brave to move all the way to Korea to go to school…..wish I could do that! 😀

Jason. Ok yeah, he was really. Really. annoying sometimes. (most of the time) and he was a JERK! But I also liked him, especially at the end, he changes into a completely different person….its almost unreal. I’m guessing his change is because of meeting Grace…..

Yoon Jae….can I just say SWOON. He’s described to have an adorable smile that lights up his face and he is such a sweetie! I imagine him to have a round face with chubby-ish cheeks and a dimple, with nice, kinda messy black hair. (Of course all Asian’s have GORGEOUS HAIR #jealous) I would soooo date him! 😉 ❤

Jane. She reminds me so much of my friend (Joyce) that I was laughing whenever we hear from her in the book. They have very similar e-mail-writing styles. Jane is completely boy crazy, she has a massive crush on Yoon Jae, but she can just back off now sista! ;D She was also super smart, and I love the scene near the end where her and Grace have a heart to heart.

Sophie. She was awesome! I really liked her because of her optimistic attitude, but I kind of wish there was more where she was involved…(especially in her love life..)

Extras:

1. I noticed that there were a lot of mentions of clothes. Jason’s in particular. It’s just always describing what he’s wearing XD I thought that was kind of annoying and ok, at the same time.
2. Also, whenever Jason and Grace touch, Grace says she can feel his body heat, like ‘Heat seeped through her shirt where his hand rested on her shoulder’ (or something to that effect) basically EVERYTIME they touch….I was like “OK, Grace, we get it….he’s hot figuratively, AND literally” XD OK…I….Crack…Myself…UP XDDD

What I didn’t like:

1. Throughout the book they use the word douc*e a few times. This isn’t a word that I use, so I wasn’t fond of it being in there.
2. At one part they mention Nathan in bed with a half dressed blonde.
3. Two teens sleep together and later when teased the girls says “We didn’t sleep like that” and the other girls says something to the affect of, “I know you didn’t because (The guy) is conservative and would never do that” (She had been crying about something and she asked him not to leave, so they sleep on the floor)
4. Also, there is a lot of drugs & drinking mentioned. Though the main character doesn’t drink she goes to clubs with her friends, who all drink.
5.Grace says “They’ll do anything to get in your pants….” Talking about old boyfriends who only dated her because of her Dad’s job.
6.There is mentions of kissing and how “His tongue was down her throat” It was just kinda gross….like, eww. Just eww.
7.THE PLOT TWIST-Y THING AT THE END. NOT COOL KATIE M. STOUT. NOT. COOL.

Me reading the plot twist like:

Ok…it wasn’t so much a plot twist as it was that something that you’re thinking the entire book, ends up not being true…..I was shocked, though I probably shouldn’t have been…..

I’m giving Hello, I love you 3 stars. Because though there were some things I didn’t particularly like, it was still a good book, with romance, humor and TONS of music references!
3-hearts

Thanks for stopping by! 🙂 Hope you enjoyed this review, and found it helpful in someway!

What are you reading right now?! Anything you think I would like?! Let me know in the comments below!!!

Madi ❤

2 thoughts on “Hello, I love you by Katie M Stout – Book Review

  1. I got this book last month and I’ve completely forgot to read it.After your review I’m not so sure if I should-I don’t like when drugs are involved,as well as drinking.Also,“His tongue was down her throat”- OMG I HATE IT WHEN THEY DESCRIBE IT LIKE THAT.Gross.

    Great review Madi! x

    Liked by 1 person

    • I agree, I don’t really like it when drugs and alcohol are in involved…. The MC (Grace) was also against it. And I KNOW RIGHT?! I was like “Ewww” *gag* XD Thanks for stopping by Norah! 🙂 ❤

      Like

Leave a Reply! I'd love to hear from you :)

