| Wordy Wednesday |

Happy Wednesday and Happy 18th day of NaNoWriMo! We’re more than half way there! Here are your 10 new words…

Wordy Wed

1. Furtive
fur·tive
adjective
attempting to avoid notice or attention, typically because of guilt or a belief that discovery would lead to trouble; secretive.
suggestive of guilty nervousness.

2. Contumacious
con·tu·ma·cious
adjective
(especially of a defendant’s behavior) stubbornly or willfully disobedient to authority.

3. Superlative
su·per·la·tive
adjective
of the highest quality or degree.
(of an adjective or adverb) expressing the highest or a very high degree of a quality (e.g., bravest, most fiercely ).

noun
the highest degree of comparison.
an exaggerated or hyperbolical expression of praise.

4. Nettle
net·tle
noun
a herbaceous plant that has jagged leaves covered with stinging hairs.
used in names of plants that have properties or appearance similar to nettle, e.g., dead-nettle.

verb
irritate or annoy (someone).
get on someone’s nerves, try someone’s patience, ruffle someone’s feathers;
rub the wrong way, rankle;

5. Niggardly
nig·gard·ly
adjective
not generous; stingy.
meager; scanty.

adverb
in a stingy or meager manner.

6. Bemoan
be·moan
verb
express discontent or sorrow over (something).
deplore, complain about;

7. Jocular
joc·u·lar
adjective
fond of or characterized by joking; humorous or playful.

8. Benignity
be·nig·ni·ty
noun
kindness or tolerance toward others.
an act of kindness.

9. Notoriety
no·to·ri·e·ty
noun
the state of being famous or well known for some bad quality or deed.

10. Placebo
pla·ce·bo
noun
a harmless pill, medicine, or procedure prescribed more for the psychological benefit to the patient than for any physiological effect.

a substance that has no therapeutic effect, used as a control in testing new drugs.
a measure designed merely to calm or please someone.

I hope you found your new favorite word today! I think mine is Jocular 😀

What has made you the most happy this week? I think theatre has made me the most happy this week…. Let me know in the comments below!

XOXO,
Madi ❤

5 thoughts on “| Wordy Wednesday |

  1. I really like the word Nettle! Sounds like a name…I think my favorite thing this week has been reading, (I know, I know, I should be writing… 😛 ) I’m re-reading the Lunar Chronicles, and I love them as much as the first time! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I really like Jocular. I think that describes me a little bit. I make a lot of jokes, but they’re pretty bad ones. xD Softball has made me the most happy this week. I really enjoy playing it, and it just makes me happy. 🙂 And you’ve been tagged the 20 TYMNKAM Tag! It’s abbreviated, but that’s because the name is SO long. 😉 Youcan check it out on my blog.
    ~ Suzy | Craftz’n’Craziness

    Liked by 1 person

    • I love that word too! Haha I think we all have that sometimes…but hey, if it makes you laugh, then its totally fine 🙂 It makes me feel UH-MAAZING when someone laughs at my jokes…but when I laugh at my own jokes it makes me feel just as good (most of the time 😉 ) YAY!!! Writing up the post now!! Thanks for tagging me, dear ❤ And for stopping by 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply! I'd love to hear from you :)

