“Adulting” – A How To Guide + Gifs

Hey guys! I’ve been absent for nearly a month! =O (Or maybe a more…I dunno…) But I’m here!! And I’m hoping to be “here” more often! I’m still trying to adjust to my schedule with work, school and the like….

Anyway….

My life has been pretty hectic lately, and I realized it was all because I have recently come to the brink of adulthood. I thought it would be cool to do a post on “adulting” with some tips from my own experience! Now, I’m new to this sort of thing….and still adapting. (I still watch Disney/cartoons and live with my parents….OK?!) But I decided, why not give it a go? Here you will find some tips and tricks on how to “adult”….

Adult

Tip #1:

ASK QUESTIONS.

I know this sounds super easy (or maybe it doesn’t) but its really important!
I struggle with speaking out and for a long time I wouldn’t ask questions for fear I would stumble over my words and/or sound stupid!
But lately I’ve learned that its OK to ask questions, and lots of them. If you want to know about something, ask someone.
If you don’t know how to purchase groceries in the self check out lane, ask an employee, or customer beside you. If you are curious on how voting works, as your parent, or someone, for help! How are we supposed to know these things if we’re never taught?! Our parents didn’t just magically know how to do things, they had to learn. Its not a shameful thing to ask questions!

And if you mess up on your words….remember that HUNDREDS of people EVERY day struggle with speaking out. Ask what you need to know and then you can go back to not talking…..(That’s what I do….)

anigif_enhanced-buzz-3429-1375727564-6

 

Tip #2:

BE RESPONSIBLE.

I think a LOT of teens today struggle in this area. Being homeschooled and home most of the time (before I started working) I was taught to be responsible. If I needed clothes washed, I washed them. If I was hungry, I’d make myself something to eat. But I still need to work on being more responsible.

TRICK:

To be more responsible: Start doing you laundry on your own, and doing your chores without being told to. Write lists of everything you need to get done for the day/week and mark them off as you do them.

Don’t make decisions you will later regret. Think things through, be smart, be wise. =)

bilbosuspendersgif

Plus, being responsible feels really good =)

Tip #3:

LEARN HOW TO COOK.

This is definitely something a lot of teens and early adults struggle with. Either their parents did all of the cooking and never required their kids to help, or maybe their family ate out a lot. Whatever the case may be, you need to know how to cook! You don’t have to be a 5 star chef, but you should at least know how to make some things.

TRICK:

Learning to cook doesn’t have to be hard! You can ask your Grandma, your Mom, or take a class to get some basics down. You can go online, and watch cooking videos! There are HUNDREDS of them on YouTube. Look up recipes and try them. The only way you’ll get better is with practice! =)

(Look!….Even a rat can cook!)

200

Tip #4:

LEARN TO MANAGE MONEY – STAY OUT OF DEBT.

My parents have always warned me about getting credit cards. When my parents got married they were already in debt and it grew through their first several years of marriage. They’ve been married nearly 19 years and they’re still trying to get out of debt.
If you get a credit card, use it for emergencies only, and make sure to pay it off at the end of each month. Only buy what you can afford! One great free resource for managing money and staying out of debt is Credit Card Insider. Check out their Learn pageto understand everything about how credit cards work and how to build good credit.

Also: Save your money. Once you get a job, decide how much out of each check you plan on saving and DO NOT TOUCH IT. Set it aside, or put it in a savings account. Keep on saving because someday you’ll need some extra cash or maybe a new car, and it is always good to save for a “rainy day”.

 

TRICK:

Keep the mindset: “Only buy what I can afford” If you want a car, save up your money.
Don’t borrow money (unless its an emergency). You’ll be in debt! And once you’re in debt it becomes so easy to get deeper and deeper in debt. You might think “Well, I already owe so-and-so $50, whats $50 more from my sister?!” Need to take a loan out for a house? Set up a payment plan to pay off the loan in the shortest time possible.

(Or one day you might be saying….)

too-much

(When you could be like this…)

giphy

You choose…. =)

Tip #5:

DON’T WORRY IF YOU DON’T KNOW WHAT YOU WANT TO DO WITH YOUR LIFE

I’m 18, I graduate this year and most people would go to college the fall following their graduation. But I still don’t know what I’m going to do.

img2.thejournal.ie
How do they expect everyone to know what they want to do with their life when they get out of school? When people find out I’m graduating they ask me “What are you going to do after school?” And to be honest I DON’T know! There are many things I think I want to do….but I can’t be sure! I want to follow my writing dreams, but I also have a passion for computers and computer programming. Or do I want to go into acting? Singing? There are so many options, its hard to choose one.
I once told someone that I thought I might take a gap year before I go to college. They acted like that was the stupidest idea ever….but I don’t feel ready to go to college right now…..

It’s OK if you don’t know what to do. Ask the LORD what he wants in your life! Follow him and don’t get overwhelmed with people asking you what you plan on doing. Tell them you don’t know….and that’s OK =)

 

So there are a few tips/things I came up with from my own experiences…

I hope you found something useful!

What is the hardest thing for you when it comes to “adulting”?….Let me know in the comments. I’d LOVE to hear!!

Talk soon,

Madi ❤

11 thoughts on ““Adulting” – A How To Guide + Gifs

  1. I’m actually only 12, but I just turned 12 a few days ago and I feel so much older! Even though I haven’t even finished middle school, these tips are quite helpful to me.
    -Lily

    Liked by 2 people

    • I’m so glad it could be a help to you! But really there is advice that people have given me throughout my life that I’ve remembered that has come in handy! So absorb all the info you can while your young and adulthood might be a bit easier ;D Thanks for stopping by Lily! And Happy belated Birthday! ❤

      Liked by 3 people

  2. Like Lily, I am also twelve. I always say that I can’t be an adult because if I had a job and had any sort of money, I would be sitting on the couch, in front of the TV, with either a bowl filled with whipped cream or sour cream and not getting up until like… an hour before work. 😛 I also want too many things, naturally. Right now I’m saving for a debit card, but I also want cool new clothes and a million other things and then when I’m older I’m going to want to save for a car when I can hardly save money for a debit card. xD I have decided that I am going to turn thirteen and then just stop xD 😛

    Liked by 2 people

    • Haha! Same here! I just got a job and I want so many things! But wanna know what I bought with my first pay check? A $2 chapstick and a $3 lipstick…..Something that I’m working on is setting a certain amount I’ll allow myself to spend each paycheck….maybe even just 10 percent! And that way I can save the rest =) Good luck with saving! And thanks for reading! xx ❤

      Liked by 2 people

  3. I learned how to adult with money from this high school personal finance course. TAKE ANY PERSONAL FINANCE COURSE YOU CAN. Basically, you want to have a $500 emergency fund and you want to create a monthly budget based on your income and current savings. We don’t have high interest rates now, or an interest rate that could be giving you more money when you save, but you should always save as much as you can. (also use debit, not credit!) hahaha
    Currently a friend and I are searching through this ginormous college scholarship 2016 book of all the scholarships we might be eligible for, because Lord knows I’m not going where I’m not getting any kind of ride on xD But I don’t know what I want to do for college either. I’m going, but I don’t know what I want to do yet D:
    I loved this! Honestly those are the most basic yet most important tips anyone could ever use. It all just comes with experience. I’m 16 and have 2 more years left of high school, but being in my position, I’ve learned way more about “adult life” than I would be if I weren’t homeschooled xD

    Liked by 2 people

    • Wow! That’s amazing! I’ve always considered myself good with money…but I really need to be better with keeping track of it. It would be wonderful to get a scholarship! (Goodluck with that! ❤ ) I'm so glad you liked it! ❤ Yep, totally…and I really hope this post will help teens of all ages. Just little things in the back of their heads to remember for the "dreaded" adult years ahead ;D And being homeschooled is definitely an advantage! =) Thanks so much for your lovely comment and for taking time to read my post! ❤ x)

      Liked by 2 people

    • I’m so glad you enjoyed it! =) These are just some things I thought would be good for teens of all ages to keep in their minds for the future! =) Adulthood can be scary, but it really doesn’t have to be if its approached with an open and prepared mind! =) nice to be back! ❤ =) Thanks for stopping by dear, always a pleasure! ❤

      Liked by 2 people

  4. Awesome tips!!! Another thing I do to help save money is ask myself if I’ll actually use it and need it. It either is a no, I’m less likely to buy something.

    Ummm…. the hardest adulting thing for me…? I would say it’s being patience with things outside of my control. My parents were great and I was able to start learning the basics super young. (I had my first payed out of the house job when I was 12. And I started helping in the kitchen as early as I could!!! My first memories I have are of baking cookies with my grandma when I was 4 but there are pictures of me when I was as young as 18 months in the kitchen “helping”. ^_^) That being said I often get stressed over dumb stuff… it’s really hard for me not to freak out a bit inside and be like “I SHOULD KNOW THIS ALREAYYYY!!!!” D= but most of the time it’s stuff I’ve never actually done just read about or seen. Head knowledge vs experience. Reminding myself I I’m not perfect and I can’t expect to be able to do something I’ve just learned like a pro who’s been doing it for years helps… along with realizing I have super high standards for myself that may not be very realistic. So that’s what I’ve been trying to work on, being more realistic. I’m too much of a dreaming perfectionists. [=
    What do you find the hardest???

    Like

  5. Pingback: #22 NaPoWriMo, Butterfly Fly… | A.M.B.

Leave a Reply! I'd love to hear from you :)

