Between the Lines by Jodi Picoult & Samantha Van Leer

Today I bring you my first book review! *Yayyyyyy*
My review is of the book Between the Lines by Jodi Picoult and her daughter Samantha Van Leer

Between the Lines was a wonderful book and first thing I want to say, is that I totally recommend it…Here’s why…
I think Jodi and Samantha did an exemplary job on this book.
The story starts out as a fairy tale, you get the back story of the non-courageous, non-heroic, Prince Oliver. Who happens to be one of the two main characters in the book!
But then…it takes an unexpected twist!
The very next chapter is written from Oliver’s POV…. You see, when the book is open, the characters tell/play the story for the reader. But when the book is closed, the characters live different lives.
Oliver hates doing the same things all the time, every time the book is opened.
Could you imagine?! Being trapped in a book and having to replay the same story every time someone wanted to read it? Yeah, doesn’t sound very fun….
The Third POV you get, is Delilah’s, the female main character. She’s a quiet, nerdy, bookish girl, who’s Mother worries for her, due to her lack of socialization.
When Delilah picks up Between the Lines, she feels an instant connection and after reading it once, she becomes addicted to it, except it’s not just the book that she’s attracted to, it’s Prince Oliver especially. πŸ˜‰
It goes on, alternating between chapters, going from fairy tale, to Oliver, and then to Delilah.

Having the fairy tale chapters helps to know more about the story Oliver is trapped in, but it wasn’t exactly my favorite part…I just wanted to get back the Oliver and Delilah’s POV! πŸ˜€
Reading from Oliver’s POV was my favorite…probably because he has a sense of humor. πŸ˜€
And I think I relate pretty well with Delilah, so reading from her POV was great too, because I know how it is being the quiet one, and I’d much rather read a book than socialize on most, if not all, occasions.

So Basically Delilah has fallen in love with Oliver, a fictional character (Can you relate??? πŸ˜‰ )
But…wait! Oliver is stuck in a book! And he’s Fictional! How is this going to work?!
Guess you’ll have to read it to find out! 😎

There were a couple parts that may be questionable. If you’re a picky reader like me (Meaning you only read clean books) I just want to warn you things that may/may not bother you.

(I’m paraphrasing here) At one point Oliver says “And when you get dressed you do this….” and Delilah says “You watch me get dressed?!” to that Oliver retorts, “You’re the one who left the book open!”

It mentions a guy being naked (he had been under a spell) and Oliver says “erm buddy…” and it mentions that he points at his bare bottom and at that moment he scurries to cover up. At this part I was kinda like, “Really….?” like why did that have to be in there? but it wasn’t so bad, so if none of these things bother you….then I think you will thoroughly enjoy it!

Oh, and there is some kissing in the book, but nothing crazy, I think the romance aspect was very well written, and not too deep.

And guess what!!! Yesterday while reading my favorite book reviewer’s blog, (Emily, from For the Bookish) I saw that there is a sequel to Between the Lines! Called Off the Page! So I’ve already ordered it to read!!! Can’t wait!

Also, the ending of Between the Lines was a bit odd in my opinion….I was kind of like “Wait, what?!” But….now that I know there is a second book, I hope some things will make a bit more sense.

I’m going to give this book 4.5 hearts. And again I totally recommend it!

Have a lovely week guys!
Madi ❀

3 thoughts on “Between the Lines by Jodi Picoult & Samantha Van Leer

  1. I totally agree. The ending was kind of fast… but I can’t wait to read the sequel! I haven’t ordered it yet, but I really need to! I completely related to Delilah, and a fictional crush becoming real??! That’s awesome! Definitely my dream world! Thanks for mentioning me. πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yeah, the ending wasn’t amazing and I’m hoping to get the sequel tonight if my Dad remembers to pick it up on his way home from work….haha. I know!!! If Fictional crushes could become real…. πŸ™„ ❀
      And no problem! Thanks for stopping by! πŸ™‚ ❀

      Like

Leave a Reply! I'd love to hear from you :)